august 20 2015
Almaty, Kazakhstan
corner

The history of the casino, the way it all started

2015.05.25

The history of the casino, the way it all started

The history of gambling is full of various myths, legends, facts and speculations. It originated in ancient Egypt and Italy of the Middle Ages and ends in the modern era of online games. Before, gambling played a much more important role in the society than now: the territorial dispute between Sweden and Norway in the 11th century was resolved with throwing the dice. In China, the army was sponsored by gambling, and during the 1700-1709 the lottery helped to feed British colonies. Several years later, the Americans started to use lottery to fund education programs.

The history of the dice

Now, no one can be 100% sure in where has dicing appeared. It is believed that this kind of game originated in ancient Egypt: the most ancient dice, dated by XX century BC, were found in Thebes. In Europe, we learned about this game thanks to the Roman patricians. As in the old times dice were used not only for entertainment but also for fortune-telling, the church has tried to ban the game repeatedly. Previously, the dice were made of animals’ bones and teeth, and the present cubic form they have acquired in Korea, where the dice were used in Buddhist variety of the game. Currently, the dice are used in games such as Sic Bo and Craps.

The history of card games

The first playing cards appeared in East Asia. Before paper cards Japanese and Chinese players used flat wooden plates. In India, playing cards had round shape - Gandzhifa. In Japan, shells of mussels with domestic scenes and seasons were used as the playing cards. In the XV century in Italy appeared baccarat, in the XVIII century in France - blackjack, in the XIX century in New Orleans - the progenitor of the modern club poker.

The history of slot machines

The first slot machine was invented by Charles August Fey in 1897. It was a mechanical slot machine with three reels, which had the name "Liberty Bell". The maximum win on this machine was only 50 cents. In 1964, Bally Manufacturing released electromechanical slot «Money Honey», which had sound design and lighting. In 1975 there was published the video game «Fortune Coin», created by Walt Frehley and his friend. In 1976, International Game Technology acquired the company, producing the game «Fortune Coin», and soon became the second largest manufacturer of gaming machines in the world.
The history of casino

In Europe, casinos acquired legal status in 1638. In Venice, in the church of San Moisè was opened a private room Il Ridotto, which had to control gambling during the big spring carnival. In 1765 in France there opened the gambling-house with roulette tables which was to replenish the treasury of King Louis XIV. The first gambling establishments opened in the United States at the end of XVIII century, and at the beginning of the XIX century the people gambled on ships, passing through the Ohio and the Mississippi rivers. By the XX century, Monte Carlo, Las Vegas and and Atlantic City became the centers of the US gaming industry.

Online Casino

The first virtual casino was InterCasino, which opened in 1995. In 1996, Playtech launched online Europa Casino, and a year later, the first virtual bookmaker’s office started to work. Online slot machines with progressive jackpot appeared in 1998. In 2003, the British companies Microgaming and Cryptologic created an international nonprofit organization eCOGRA, whose aim was to bring together gambling providers under a single standard.

20 августа 2015
Алматы, Казахстан
corner

История казино - с чего всё начиналось

2015.05.25

История казино - с чего всё начиналось

В истории азартных игр полно различных мифов, легенд, фактов и догадок. Она берет свое начало в Древнем Египте и Италии средних веков, а заканчивается современной эрой онлайн-игр. Раньше азартные игры играли гораздо большее значение в обществе, нежели сейчас: так, территориальный спор между Швецией и Норвегией в 11 веке разрешился при помощи броска костей. В Китае благодаря азартным играм спонсировалась армия, а в течение 1700-1709 годов лотереи помогали кормить британские колонии. Спустя несколько лет американцы стали использовать лотерею для финансирования образовательных программ.

 

История игры в кости

Сейчас никто не может сказать со 100-процентной уверенностью, где возникла игра в кости. Принято считать, что зародилась эта азартная игра еще в Древнем Египте: самые древние кости, датируемые XX веком до нашей эры, были найдены в Фивах. В Европе об этой игре узнали благодаря римским патрициям. Поскольку в старину игральные кости использовались не только для развлечения, но и для гадания, церковь неоднократно пыталась запретить эту игру. Раньше игральные кости изготавливались из зубов и костей животных, а нынешнюю кубическую форму они приобрели в Корее, где использовались в буддийской разновидности этой игры. В настоящее время кости используются в таких играх, как сик-бо и крэпс.

История карточных игр

Первые игральные карты возникли в Восточной Азии. До бумажных карт японские и китайские игроки использовали плоские таблички, изготовленные из дерева. В Индии игральные карты имели круглую форму – Ганджифа. В Японии в качестве игральных карт использовали раковины мидий, на которые были нанесены бытовые сцены и времена года. В XV веке в Италии возникла баккара, в XVIII веке во Франции – блекджэк, в XIX веке в Новом Орлеане – прародитель современного клубного покера.

История игровых автоматов

Первый игровой автомат изобрел Чарльз Огаст Фей, и произошло это в 1897 году. Это был механический слот-автомат с тремя барабанами, носивший название «Колокол Свободы». Максимальный выигрыш на этом автомате составлял всего лишь 50 центов. В 1964 году компания Bally Manufacturing выпустила электромеханический слот «Money Honey», который мог похвастаться звуковым оформлением и подсветкой. В 1975 году вышла видеоигра «Fortune Coin», создателями которой были Уолт Фрэйли и его друг. В 1976 International Game Technology приобрела компанию, производившую игру «Fortune Coin», что вскоре позволило ей стать вторым крупнейшим производителем игровых автоматов в мире.

История казино

В Европе казино приобрели легальный статус в 1638 году. В Венеции в церкви Сан-Моизе открылась частная комната Il Ridotto, деятельность которой заключалась в контроле азартных игр во время большого весеннего карнавала. В 1765 году во Франции начал работать игорный дом со столами с рулеткой, который служил для пополнения казны короля Людовика XIV. Первые игровые заведения начали открываться в США в конце XVIII, а в начале XIX века в азартные игры играли на пароходах и судах, проходивших по рекам Огайо и Миссисипи. К XX веку центрами американской игорной индустрии стали Монте-Карло, Лас-Вегас и Атлантик-Сити.

Онлайн-казино

Первым виртуальным казино стало InterCasino, открывшееся еще в 1995 году. В 1996 году компания Playtech запустила онлайн-казино Europa Casino, а спустя еще год заработала первая виртуальная букмекерская контора. Онлайн-автоматы с прогрессивным джекпотом появились в 1998 году. В 2003 году в Великобритании усилиями компаний Microgaming и Cryptologic появилась международная некоммерческая организация eCOGRA, целью которой было объединение провайдеров азартных игр под единый стандарт.