august 20 2015

Kazakhstan will be visa-free for 26 countries


Kazakhstan will be visa-free for 26 countries

Kazakhstan is going to become visa-free for 26 countries, Tengrinews.kz reports citing deputy chairman of the National Chamber of Entrepreneurs Gulnar Kurbanbaeva.

"Today, the issue is being solved. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan, the Ministry of the Interior, the National Security Committee of the Republic, the National Chamber of entrepreneurs have jointly developed and support the project together with the Ministry of Investment and Development of the visa-free regimes. This is a continuation of the pilot, which has been launched earlier concerning ten countries, now the number of countries has increased to 26. We hope that it will help us in EXPO ", - explained Kurbanbaeva, answering questions of journalists at the briefing in CCS.

"We hope that by summer we will have a new legal act, which allows (foreigners) to visit our country without a visa", added Kurbanbaeva. However, she did not specify the countries in question.

Let us remind that at the 27th meeting of the Foreign Investors Council in June 2014, the head of state announced that the decision is taken on the establishment of unilateral visa-free regime for citizens of the United States, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, Malaysia, the United Arab Emirates, Korea and Japan.

During this period, citizens of these countries who have valid diplomatic, official and national passports, may repeatedly enter and leave the territory of Kazakhstan up to 15 calendar days. Visa-free regime on a trial basis was to operate throughout the year, and later it became known that it is valid until July 15, 2016.